The EIC Detector 1 Institutional Board consists of representatives of all participating institutions. The Institutional Board is composed of one individual Representative from each member institution. Each member institution selects its own Representative. The Institutional Board makes all major policy decisions within the collaboration. Initially, the Institutional Board chair(s) is(are) chosen by the EIC Detector 1 pro-tempore steering committee.

Following the adoption of the collaboration bylaws, the Chairperson(s) and the Vice Chairperson of the Institutional Board will be elected by a vote of the Institutional Board from among its ranks. The election of new Institutional Board leadership will take place annually. Adoption of the Bylaws will require a 2/3 majority of all votes cast within the Institutional Board; Chair elections require a simple majority of the Institutional Board votes cast.

Meetings of the Institutional Board will, by default, be open to all members of the collaboration unless declared closed by the Chair(s). If a Representative is not available for a specific Institutional Board meeting, an alternate may be appointed if that person is designated to the Institutional Board chair at least 24 hours before the meeting.