



Election Committee Update – Standing Committee Chair/VC elections

John Arrington (Chair), Helen Caines, Domenico Elia, Or Hen

8/18/2023

Election Committee responsibilities

- Identify candidates and manage elections for collaboration leadership
 - 1. Spokesperson team
 - 2. Collaboration Council Chair/Vice-chair
 - 3. Executive Board members-at-large
- Identify candidates and manage elections of standing committees chair/vice-chairs
 - 1. Conference and Talks Committee
 - 2. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
 - 3. Membership Committee
 - 4. Publication Committee

The Chair and Vice-Chair of the standing committees then propose additional committee members, to be approved by the Collaboration Council

The details, especially for the first election, aren't all spelled out in the charter. Solicited collaboration input on a range of topics at the June 12th ePIC General Meeting

Standing Committee election (timeline)

- Identify candidates and manage elections for collaboration leadership
 - 1. Spokesperson team
 - 2. Collaboration Council Chair/Vice-chair
 - 3. Executive Board members-at-large
- Identify candidates and manage elections of standing committees chair/vice-chairs
 - 1. Conference and Talks Committee
 - 2. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
 - 3. Membership Committee
 - 4. Publication Committee

Solicited nominations from ePIC collaboration [May 23-Jun 8]: 13-18 nominations for each committee

Committee selected slate of candidates, confirmed willingness to serve, and solicited statements

Slate of candidates was announced to full collaboration

Election opened – voting links sent to individual CC members [July 24]

Notice of the election and candidate statements circulated to full collaboration [July 26]

Close of the election [Aug 8, midnight US Eastern Time]

8/18/2023

Election procedure

- Separate elections for Chair and Vice Chair of each committee
- By default, candidates ran in both the Chair and Vice-Chair election, unless they preferred to run for only one
- Ranked-choice voting by CC members
 - Candidates listed in random order (same for chair and vice chair)
 - Ballot required that the voter modified the order
- If a candidate was the top-ranked choice for both Chair and Vice Chair, they were asked which position they preferred to take; the other position was determined by ranked-choice voting after removing the candidate that won initially
- 115 Votes were cast (out of 185 CC members)

Election results

DEI Committee

- Megan Connors (GSU) Chair
- Christine Nattrass (UTK) Vice Chair

Membership Committee

- Peter Steinberg (BNL) Chair
- Pietro Antonioli (INFN-Bologna) Vice Chair

Conferences and Talks Committee

- Maria Zurek (ANL) Chair
- Brian Page (BNL) Vice Chair

Next step for the newly elected standing committee members:

- Discuss charge, timelines, etc... with CC leadership
- Select members to fill the committees for approval by the CC

8/18/2023

Election Committee – next steps

- Identify candidates and manage elections for collaboration leadership
 - 1. Spokesperson team
 - 2. Collaboration Council Chair/Vice-chair
 - 3. Executive Board members-at-large
- Identify candidates and manage elections of standing committees chair/vice-chairs
 - 1. Conference and Talks Committee
 - 2. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
 - 3. Membership Committee
 - 4. Publication Committee

Election committee will now move on to thinking about the Executive Board election

Need to consider the election timeline and how it fits with other related activities, e.g. timeline for appointment of other Executive Board members

May run publication committee election in parallel (to minimize number of distinct elections), or separate as they are for very different positions

8/18/2023