



Election Committee Update – Executive Board, Publications Committee

John Arrington (Chair), Helen Caines, Domenico Elia

8/18/2023 ePIC General Meeting 1

ePIC elections overview

- Identify candidates and manage elections for collaboration leadership
 - 1. Spokesperson team
 - 2. Collaboration Council Chair/Vice-chair
 - 3. Executive Board members-at-large
- Identify candidates and manage elections of standing committees chair/vice-chairs
 - Conference and Talks Committee
 - 2. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
 - 3. Membership Committee
 - 4. Publication Committee

Solicited nominations from ePIC collaboration

Committee selected slate of candidates, confirmed willingness to serve, and solicited statements

Election opened – voting links sent to individual CC members

Slate of candidates was announced to full collaboration

Reminders send to IB member who had not voted 7 days and 2 days before the deadline

Close of the election [Wed, Oct 25, 11:45pm US Eastern Time]

Election procedure

- Ranked-choice voting by CC members
 - Candidates listed in random order (same for chair and vice chair)
 - Ballot required that the voter modified the order
- 118 Votes were cast (out of 185 CC members)

Selected 3 at-large EB members based on single ranked-choice ballot

- First candidate selected by standard ranked-choice voting
- Second candidate selected by removing the first elected candidate and then standard RC voting
- Third selected by removing first two elected candidates and then RC voting

Election results

Executive Board – at large members

- Barbara Jacak (UC Berkeley/LBNL)
- Paul Newman (U. Birmingham)
- Taku Gunji (U. Tokyo)

Publications Committee

- Rene Bellwied (U. Houston) Chair
- Annalisa Mastroserio (INFN Bari, U. Foggia) Vice Chair