

Brief report from Collaboration Council Meeting past March 1, 2024

Ernst Sichtermann (LBNL), Bernd Surrow (Temple)

Agenda of the March 1, 2024 Collaboration Council Meeting (c.f. https://indico.bnl.gov/event/22407/):

- 1. Welcome, Agenda, and Minutes from the previous meeting
- 2. New Institutions proposing to join ePIC
- 3. Updates on and from the Collaboration Council Committees
- 4. Updates on Membership and Voting
- 5. Closed session
- 6. AOB

Note: Collaboration Council meetings are open to all Collaboration Members except for the closed session, which for Collaboration Council Members only.

Voting outcomes:

2. New Institutions proposing to join ePIC

Kent State University petitioned to join the collaboration. Electronic voting – for/against/abstain – opened past March 5 and closed on March 19, 2024. The required supermajority of Collaboration Council members voted in favor of admission. A total of 139 valid votes were cast. KSU is thus admitted to the Collaboration. **Welcome to our new KSU collaborators!**

3. Updates on and from the Collaboration Council Committees

Rene Bellwied (Houston) and Analisa Mastroserio (Bari), in their roles as elected Chair and vice-Chair of the Publication Committee, proposed PC membership:

Lokesh Kumar (Panjab U.)

Michela Chiosso (Torino)

Prithwish Tribedy (BNL)

Markus Diefenthaler (JLab)

Sevil Salur (Rutgers)

Daniel Brandenburg (OSU) – ex-officio w. Conferences and Talks Committee

Electronic voting – for/against/abstain – on the endorsement of the Publication Committee composition opened past March 5 and closed on March 19, 2024. The required majority of Collaboration Council members voted in favor. A total of 139 valid votes were cast. **The Collaboration Council has thus endorsed the Publication Committee composition.**

Voting outcomes (continued):

3. Updates on and from the Collaboration Council Committees

Following discussion with the Election Committee, the Council Chair proposed to expand the Election Committee to five members, to introduce a 3-year cycle of Chair, past-Chair, and vice-Chair, as well as to set the precedent of limiting yearly changes to the Election Committee to the minority of its membership (i.e. up to two out of five candidates). The membership proposal was:

Helen Caines (Yale U.) -- Chair

John Arrington (LBNL) – past-Chair

Ken Barish (UCR) - vice-Chair

Domenico Elia (Bari)

Maria Stefaniak (OSU)

Electronic voting – for/against/abstain – on the endorsement of the Election Committee composition opened past March 5 and closed on March 19, 2024. The required majority of Collaboration Council members voted in favor. A total of 139 valid votes were cast. **The Collaboration Council has thus endorsed the Election Committee.**

Note: All Collaboration Council Committees are now endorsed/active. Going forward, the yearly elections for the role of vice-Chair of the Conferences and Talks, DE&I, Membership, and Publication Committee will be aligned with the Summer Collaboration meeting.

4. Updates on Membership and Voting

All Collaboration Council Members were asked to identify the individual Members of the Collaboration at their institution with a nominal deadline of March 11, 2024. Collaboration Council Members from 123 Institutions have done so to date.

Insight into individual membership is essential to the Collaboration's functioning as efforts (need to) ramp up. Membership "in good standing" also matters for representation as part of the Collaboration Council.

If you are a Collaboration Council member and have not yet identified the Collaborators at your institution, please do so as soon as possible. An initial membership list of the Collaboration will be established before the end of the month.