# Draft Minutes from the Collaboration Council Meeting on March 1, 2024

The meeting agenda and materials are available via: <a href="https://indico.bnl.gov/event/22407/">https://indico.bnl.gov/event/22407/</a>
By consensus, the meeting was not recorded.

The minutes of the Collaboration Council meeting on January 12, 2024 were adopted by consensus and were added to the respective meeting indico page.

Zhangbu Xu represented Kent State University and presented the petition to join the collaboration and planned contributions. He was available for subsequent discussion. The consensus was to vote electronically on the admission(for/against/abstain).

The elected Chair-line of the Publication Committee presented the proposed Publication Committee composition, as posted. The consensus was to vote electronically on the endorsement (for/against/abstain) of the proposed committee composition as a whole.

The appointed Chair of the Election Committee gave an update, as posted. This was followed by the proposal to institute a yearly rotation of minority fraction of its membership and establish a Chair-line. The consensus was to vote electronically on the endorsement (for/against/abstain) of the new proposed 2024 committee composition as a whole.

The elected Chair-line of the Membership Committee presented an update, as posted.

The Council Chair updated the Council with summary statistics on recent voting rounds and engagement.

# Draft Minutes from the Collaboration Council Meeting on March 1, 2024

The closed session resulted in consensus to activate the Charter stipulations of Section 5.3 for systemic non-participation in Collaboration Council business. Specifically, Section 5.3 states:

"Any CC member who missed three consecutive meetings, elections or CC major votes without assigning a replacement voting member or a voting proxy, will have their voting privileges suspended for one year, and will not be counted towards the required quorums in CC votes. The announcements of such suspensions should be made by the CC leadership to the CC mailing list."

It was agreed that reminders will continue to be sent. All counts of past (non-)participation were reset.

No other business was brought up and the meeting was adjourned.

Electronic voting was opened on March 5 for the agreed-on period of two weeks. A note was included on the above activation of the stipulations in Section 5.3. Voting was closed on March 19, 2024 with 139 valid votes. This satisfies the required quorum. The required super-majority was in favor of admission of Kent State University joining ePIC. The required majorities endorsed the proposed Publication and Election Committee compositions.

### Draft Minutes from the Collaboration Council Meeting on March 1, 2024

#### The Collaboration Council has thus admitted:

Kent State University

The Collaboration Council has thus endorsed the Publication Committee and 2024 Election Committee.

### As a reminder (not part of the minutes), the Publication committee membership is:

Lokesh Kumar (Panjab University)

Michela Chiosso (University of Torino and INFN)

Prithwish Tribedi (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

Markus Diefenthaler (Jefferson Laboratory)

Sevil Salur (Rutgers University)

Daniel Brandenburg (The Ohio State University, ex-officio)

### As a reminder (not part of the minutes), the 2024 Elections committee membership is:

Helen Caines (Yale University) -- Chair

John Arrington (LBNL) -- Past Chair

Ken Barish (UC Riverside) -- Vice Chair

Domenico Elia (INFN Bari)

Maria Stefaniak (The Ohio State University)