In conjunction with this year’s New York Scientific Data Summit (NYSDS), the AI/ML Working Group at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) is organizing a one-day virtual workshop on challenges in applying machine learning and artificial intelligence towards future autonomous scientific facilities. BNL operates several large-scale scientific user facilities such as National Synchrotron Light Source II, Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider, and the future Electron-Ion Collider. How to use machine learning and AI to intelligently control and operate different detectors and instruments while taking into account safety and security issues remains a challenging problem. 

The workshop will cover selected topics in machine learning, uncertainty quantification and computational challenges in detectors, sensors, accelerators, and observational instruments. Progress in autonomous systems from the industry will also be discussed. It will consist of invited presentations, a panel discussion with the speakers, and poster presentations. 


Now in its seventh year, NYSDS connects researchers, developers, and end-users from academia, industry, and government to exchange ideas, foster cross-disciplinary collaboration, and build a community around common data research interests. In its continuing effort to accelerate data-driven discovery and innovation in science and industry, NYSDS 2021 will focus on mathematical/algorithmic, artificial intelligence/machine learning, and high-performance computational challenges that impact high-consequence decision-making in large-scale, complex, and highly uncertain systems.


This event is open to public and attendance is free. However, registration is required for participation. Please register via NYSDS. Deadline for registration is October 21, 2021. 


Organizing Committee

  • Frank Alexander (Computational Science Initiative, BNL)
  • Elke Aschenauer (Physics Department, BNL)
  • David M. Asner (Advanced Technology Research Office, BNL)
  • David Brown (Nuclear Science and Technology Department, BNL)
  • Kevin Brown (Collider Accelerator Department, BNL)
  • Gabriella Carini (Instrumentation Division, BNL)
  • Rober Konik (Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science Department, BNL)
  • Jerome Lauret (Physics Department, BNL)
  • Meifeng Lin (Computational Science Initiative, BNL)
  • Allison McComiskey (Environmental and Climate Sciences Department, BNL)
  • Daniel Olds (National Synchrotron Light Source II, BNL)
  • Nathan Urban (Computational Science Initiative, BNL)
  • Torre Wenaus (Physics Department, BNL)
  • Kevin Yager (Center for Functional Nanomaterials, BNL)
  • Shinjae Yoo (Computational Science Initiative, BNL)