***ATTENTION Indico Users***

Notice: Maintenance on 6/19

Please see the News section for more information.

September 30, 2018 to October 5, 2018
Charles B. Wang Center
US/Eastern timezone

Sub-system Integration and Operation Interface of the Linear IFMIF Prototype Accelerator (LIPAc)

Oct 3, 2018, 3:30 PM
1h 30m
Theater Lobby (Charles B. Wang Center)

Theater Lobby

Charles B. Wang Center

Poster Operator Interface to Controls Poster Session & Software Demo


Dr Keitaro Kondo (Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology (QST))


The IFMIF/EVEDA Linear Prototype Accelerator (LIPAc) is a prototype of the projected IFMIF accelerator. The installation and commissioning of LIPAc is progressing at Rokkasho Fusion Institute, QST (Japan). This prototype is aiming at accelerating a deuteron beam of 125 mA to 9 MeV in continuous wave mode (CW). Currently, the beam commissioning up to 5 MeV, so-called ‘Phase-B’, is underway at low duty cycle. One of the important features of this accelerator is that most of the components were developed individually and delivered by Europe as in-kind contributions. While QST is responsible for the installation, the operation is done by a joint operation team Japan-Europe. In the Phase-B operation, we need to operate several sub-systems together delivered by different institutes, i.e. the injector from CEA (France), RFQ from INFN (Italy), MEBT and the RF system from CIEMAT (Spain) with utilities (cooling system, HVAC) supplied by QST. The beam instrumentation has been developed by CEA, CIEMAT and INFN and some devices are assembled on Diagnostics Plate made by CIEMAT. These sub-systems are integrated in the central control system (TS, MPS, PPS) prepared by QST. We started the beam commissioning in June 2018 after the successful integration and management of the interfacing of such a different subsystem into one accelerator system. We will present the details of the integration of different subsystems, the procedure developed to reach the first beam commissioning and some improvements needed considering the feedback of this integration phase.

Primary authors

Dr Keitaro Kondo (Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology (QST)) Dr Hervé Dzitko (Fusion for Energy) Dr Enrico Fagotti (INFN/LNL) Mr Alvaro Marqueta (Fusion for Energy) Dr Masayoshi Sugimoto (QST) Dr Tomoya Akagi (QST) Mr Philippe Cara (IFMIF/EVEDA Project Team) Dr Nicolas Chauvin (CEA) Mr Takashi Ebisawa (QST) Dr Francesco Grespan (INFN/LNL) Dr Roland Heidinger (Fusion for Energy) Dr Yosuke Hirata (QST) Dr David Jimenez (CIEMAT) Mr Antti Jokinen (Fusion for Energy) Mr Atsushi Kasugai (QST) Mr Alvaro Marchena (CIEMAT) Dr Jacques Marroncle (CEA) Mr Ivan Moya (Fusion for Energy) Ivan Podadera (CIEMAT) Dr Keishi Sakamoto (QST) Dr Francesco Scantamburlo (INFN/LNL) Dr Takahiro Shinya (QST) Dr Moises Weber (CIEMAT)

Presentation materials