***ATTENTION Indico Users***

Notice: Maintenance on 6/19

Please see the News section for more information.

The 2022 CFNS Summer School on the Physics of the Electron-Ion Collider will be hosted by Stony Brook University, USA, July 11-22, 2022.

This year we have students from 13 countries from Americas, Europe, and Asia. There are 20 in person participants and 30+ online participants.

School photos are here: https://indico.bnl.gov/event/15003/page/414-school-photo

The Electron Ion Collider (EIC) is the world’s first polarized electron-nucleon (ep) and electron-nucleus (eA) collider planned for construction at Brookhaven National Laboratory on Long Island, New York by the U.S. Department of Energy. The Electron-Ion Collider will be a discovery machine for unlocking the secrets of the "glue" that binds the building blocks of visible matter in the universe.

The key physics questions that the EIC will address are:

  • How do the nucleonic properties such as mass and spin emerge from partons and their underlying interactions?

  • How are partons inside the nucleon distributed in both momentum and position space?

  • How do color-charged quarks and gluons, and jets, interact with a nuclear medium? How do the confined hadronic states emerge from these quarks and gluons? How do the quark-gluon interactions create nuclear binding?

  • How does a dense nuclear environment affect the dynamics of quarks and gluons, their correlations, and their interactions? What happens to the gluon density in nuclei? Does it saturate at high energy, giving rise to gluonic matter or a gluonic phase with universal properties in all nuclei and even in nucleons?

The school will feature lectures and tutorials on theoretical and experimental topics related to the physics of the EIC. The school is ideally suited for advanced graduate students and postdocs in nuclear and particle physics.



Confirmed lecturers: 

  • Miguel Arratia (UC Riverside)
  • Klaus Dehmelt (SBU)
  • Markus Diefenthaler (JLab)
  • Oleg Eyser (BNL)
  • Alexander Jentsch (BNL)
  • Sylvester Joosten (ANL)
  • Balint Joo (ORNL)
  • Rabah Khalek (JLab)
  • Thomas Mehen (Duke University)
  • Chris Monahan (William & Mary)
  • Barbara Pasquini (Pavia University, Italy)
  • Bjoern Schenke (BNL)
  • Thomas Ullrich (BNL)
  • Elizabeth Sexton-Kennedy (FNAL)

Organizing Committee: 

  • Ross Corliss (SBU)  
  • Abhay Deshpande (SBU, CFNS Director)
  • Wenliang Li (SBU)
  • Mriganka Mondal (SBU)
  • Alexei Prokudin (PSU, School Chair)

Administrative support:

  • Socorro Delquaglio (SBU)
  • Rachel Nieves (BNL)
  • Marlene Vera-Viteri (SBU)

International Advisory Committee: 

  • Amber Boehnlein (JLAB) 
  • Martha Constantinou (Temple)
  • Marta Ruspa (INFN, Italy)
  • Ralf Seidl (RIKEN, Japan)
  • Thomas Ullrich (BNL)
There is an open survey.