***ATTENTION Indico Users***

Notice: Maintenance on 6/19

Please see the News section for more information.

The 2023 CFNS-CTEQ Summer School on the Physics of the Electron-Ion Collider will be hosted by Stony Brook University, USA, June 5-16, 2023. The school is jointly organized by CFNS and CTEQ, and will explore topics common to both nuclear and particle physics.

This year we have 40 students from 9 countries from North America, Europe, Africa and Asia. 

School photos are here: https://indico.bnl.gov/event/17958/page/480-school-photos-2023

School photo

The Electron Ion Collider (EIC) is the world’s first polarized electron-nucleon (ep) and electron-nucleus (eA) collider planned for construction at Brookhaven National Laboratory on Long Island, New York by the U.S. Department of Energy. The Electron-Ion Collider will be a discovery machine for unlocking the secrets of the "glue" that binds the building blocks of visible matter in the universe.

The key physics questions that the EIC will address are:

  • How do the nucleonic properties such as mass and spin emerge from partons and their underlying interactions?

  • How are partons inside the nucleon distributed in both momentum and position space?

  • How do color-charged quarks and gluons, and jets, interact with a nuclear medium? How do the confined hadronic states emerge from these quarks and gluons? How do the quark-gluon interactions create nuclear binding?

  • How does a dense nuclear environment affect the dynamics of quarks and gluons, their correlations, and their interactions? What happens to the gluon density in nuclei? Does it saturate at high energy, giving rise to gluonic matter or a gluonic phase with universal properties in all nuclei and even in nucleons?

The school will feature lectures and tutorials on theoretical and experimental topics related to the physics of the EIC. The school is ideally suited for advanced graduate students and postdocs in nuclear and particle physics.

The school will have approximately 40 advanced graduate students and postdocs both from theory and experiment. The students of the school will have support for lodging and meals for the duration of the school.

Advanced graduate students and postdocs are also welcome to apply for an extended stay at BNL EIC Theory Institute for a short or extended period around the dates of their attendance at the school (deadline January 31st):



Confirmed lecturers: 

  • Thomas Britton (JLab)
  • Sally Dawson (BNL)
  • Wouter Deconinck (UManitoba)
  • Oleg Eyser (BNL)
  • Ciprian Gal (JLab)
  • Tim Hobbs (Argonne)
  • Vladimir Korepin (SBU)
  • John Lajoie (Iowa State)
  • Huey-Wen Lin (MSU)
  • Todd Satogata (Jefferson Lab)
  • Ernst Sichtermann (LBNL)
  • Anna Stasto (PSU)
  • Iain Stewart (MIT)
  • George Sterman (SBU)
  • Raju Venugopalan (BNL)

Organizing Committee: 

  • Ross Corliss (SBU)
  • Abhay Deshpande (SBU, CFNS Director)
  • Prakhar Garg (SBU)
  • Wenliang Li (SBU)
  • Fred Olness (SMU)
  • Alexei Prokudin (PSU, School Chair)
  • Zack Sullivan (IIT)

Administrative support:

  • Socorro Delquaglio (SBU)