The 2021 CFNS Summer School on the Physics of the Electron-Ion Collider will be hosted remotely by Stony Brook University, USA, August 9-20, 2021. 

The Electron Ion Collider (EIC) is the world’s first polarized electron-nucleon (ep) and electron-nucleus (eA) collider planned for construction at Brookhaven National Laboratory on Long Island, New York by the U.S. Department of Energy. The Electron-Ion Collider will be a discovery machine for unlocking the secrets of the "glue" that binds the building blocks of visible matter in the universe.

The key physics questions that the EIC will address are:

  • How do the nucleonic properties such as mass and spin emerge from partons and their underlying interactions?

  • How are partons inside the nucleon distributed in both momentum and position space?

  • How do color-charged quarks and gluons, and jets, interact with a nuclear medium? How do the confined hadronic states emerge from these quarks and gluons? How do the quark-gluon interactions create nuclear binding?

  • How does a dense nuclear environment affect the dynamics of quarks and gluons, their correlations, and their interactions? What happens to the gluon density in nuclei? Does it saturate at high energy, giving rise to gluonic matter or a gluonic phase with universal properties in all nuclei and even in nucleons?

The school will feature lectures and tutorials on theoretical and experimental topics related to the physics of the EIC. The school is ideally suited for advanced graduate students and postdocs in nuclear and particle physics.



  • Mei Bai (SLAC)
  • Olga Evdokimov (University of Illinois, Chicago)
  • Renee Fatemi (University of Kentucky)
  • Dave Gaskell (JLAB) 
  • Xiangdong Ji (U. of Maryland)
  • Tuomas Lappi (JYU, Finland) 
  • Cédric Lorcé (École Polytechnique)
  • George Sterman (SBU)

Organizing Committee: 

  • Abhay Deshpande (SBU) Director
  • Alexei Prokudin (PSU Berks and Jefferson Lab) Chair
  • Martha Constantinou (Temple)
  • Socorro Delquaglio (SBU)
  • Ciprian Gal (SBU)
  • Sanghwa Park (SBU)
  • Marlene Vera-Viteri (SBU)
  • Jinlong Zhang (Shandong University)