24th ATF Users' Meeting




The Accelerator Test Facility (ATF) is a DOE Office of Science National User Facility that provides users with high-brightness electron- and laser-beams, and ultrafast electron diffraction capabilities. The ATF has provided a facility for users to study the properties of modern accelerators and new techniques of particle acceleration and radiation generation for over 25 years. It is the designated user facility for the Accelerator Stewardship Program.

During the meeting, the progress of the ongoing user experimental program will be presented and the ATF Program Advisory Committee (APAC) will review  proposals for new experiments that are consistent with the ATF's mission within the Accelerator Stewardship Program.

Meeting Objectives

  • The ATF Program Advisory Committee (APAC) will review the ongoing user program and evaluate the scientific and technology merit of new experimental proposals that are synergistic with the mission of the DOE Office of Science Accelerator Stewardship Program.
  • The meeting will serve as a forum for collaboration and a platform for users to report their work to APAC and the research community.
  • The current status, performance, and future plans for the ATF will be presented.

Please be advised that all sessions will be recorded.

Event ID: E000003919

Note: This meeting falls under Exemption E. Meetings such as Advisory Committee and Federal Advisory Committee meetings. Solicitation/Funding Opportunity Announcement Review Board meetings, peer review/objective review panel meetings, evaluation panel/board meetings, and program kick-off and review meetings (including those for grants and contracts) and is open to the public.

Tuesday Zoom Meeting Information

Thursday Zoom Meeting Information

Friday Zoom Meeting Information

Meeting Coordinator
    • Opening Session
      • 1
        Speaker: David Asner (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
      • 2
        Meeting Logistics
        Speaker: Mark Palmer (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
      • 3
        Comments from DOE ARDAP
        Speaker: Eric Colby (U. S. DOE)
      • 4
        ATF Status and Plans
        Speaker: Mark Palmer (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
      • 5
        ATF Capability Upgrades
        Speaker: Andrew Simmonds (Brookhaven National Lab)
    • 1:00 PM
    • Status Reports
      • 6
        AE101 - Optical Materials for Ultrahigh-Power Long-Wave Infrared Lasers

        Status Report

        Speaker: Mikhail Polyanskiy (Brookhaven National Laboratoty)
      • 7
        Facility Report: AE101 Implications for non linear pulse compression
        Speaker: Igor Pogorelsky (BNL/CAD)
      • 8
        AE108 - Development of Wave length Conversion Techniques for Generation of Coherent Radiation at the Mid- to Long-wave Infrared / AE88 - Electron Beam Formation via Ionization Injection for Next Generation Accelerator R&D

        Status Reports

        Speaker: Rotem Kupfer (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
      • 2:40 PM
      • 9
        AE87 - Hard X-ray ICS

        Status Report

        Speaker: Yusuke Sakai (UCLA)
      • 10
        UE110 - Baseline materials for characterizing the MUED configuration, their role verifying daily alignment and in operation and implementation of a non-destructive real-time machine learning diagnostic for ensuring beam stability

        Status Report

        Speaker: Mariana Fazio (University of New Mexico)
    • Status Reports
    • 12:45 PM
      Break (Lunch)
    • New Proposals
      • 16
        Session Introduction
      • 17
        309994: Characterization of the collinear wakefield accelerator module


        Speaker: Alexander Zholents (ANL)
      • 18
        309989: MeV energy gain in a CO2 laser driven dielectric accelerator

        CO2 Laser + E-Beam

        Speaker: Gyanendra Yadav (University of Liverpool)
      • 19
        310077: Simulation‐aided Instrument Optimization using Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Methods


        Speakers: Maksim Rakitin, Mikhail Fedurin (BNL)
      • 2:55 PM
      • 20
        310010: High-efficiency laser-driven electron accelerator

        CO2 Laser

        Speaker: Prof. Matthias Fuchs (University of Nebraska - Lincoln)
    • Status Reports
      • 21
      • 22
        AE93 - Direct Measurement of Fields and Radiation in the Self-Modulated Plasma Wakefield Regime

        Status Report

        Speaker: Irina Petrushina (Stony Brook University)
      • 23
        AE95 - Optical Diagnosis of Self-Modulated CO2-laser Driven Plasm a Wakes

        Status Report

        Speaker: Rafal Zgadzaj (The University of Texas at Austin)
      • 24
        AE89 - Plasma Compression for Terawatt Long Wavelength Lasers
      • 25
        UE104 - Structure phase transition on Weyl semimetal MoTe2

        Status Report

        Speaker: Junjie Li (Brookhaven national Lab)
      • 26
        UE117 – Advanced Control of the ATF MUED Electron Beam Using Automation, Artificial Intelligence, and High-Performance Computing

        Status Report

        Speaker: Dr Salvador Sosa Guitron (University of New Mexico)
    • Break/Lunch
    • New Proposals
      • 27
      • 28
        310036: Remote detection of radioactive materials using long wave infrared laser-driven avalanche breakdown


        Speaker: Robert Max Schwartz (University of Maryland College Park)
      • 29
        310044: Development of actinide studies using MeV ultrafast electron diffraction


        Speaker: Mariana Fazio (University of New Mexico)
      • 30
        309977: Radiofrequency emission from 10 μm short pulse laser ionized gases and solids

        CO2 Laser

        Speaker: Jennifer Elle (AFRL)
      • 2:40 PM
      • 31
        310047: Tunable positron source: CO2 laser driven post-processing of ATF electron beam driven particle shower

        E-Beam + CO2

        Speaker: Dr Aakash Sahai (Univ of Colorado)
    • Closing Session