2022 RHIC/AGS Annual Users' Meeting

Christine Nattrass (University of Tennessee, Knoxville), Ron Belmont (University of North Carolina Greensboro), Zhenyu Ye (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Back to Homepage

The Annual RHIC & AGS Users' Meeting will be held on June 7–10, 2022. The meeting will highlight the latest physics results from the STAR and PHENIX experiments and provide an outlook with the future programs at RHIC and the EIC.

Workshops that will be held virtually on Tuesday and Wednesday June 7th and 8th will enable more in-depth discussions of the beam energy scan, studies of small systems, machine learning, cold QCD and spin, measurements of hard probes in heavy ion collisions, diversity, physics opportunities and detector developments at the EIC. There will be an online poster session on Thursday, June 9th. 

Plenary sessions will be held virtually on Thursday, June 9th and Friday, June 10th. Reports on operation status, highlights from STAR and PHENIX experiments, an in-depth look at the upcoming sPHENIX experiment and EIC detectors, reports from representatives from the funding agencies, and award ceremonies will be held during the plenary sessions.


Event ID: E000004205

Note: This meeting falls under Exemption E. Meetings such as Advisory Committee and Federal Advisory Committee meetings. Solicitation/Funding Opportunity Announcement Review Board meetings, peer review/objective review panel meetings, evaluation panel/board meetings, and program kick-off and review meetings (including those for grants and contracts) are open to the public.

    • Beam Energy Scan
      Conveners: Agnieszka Sorensen (University of Washington), Dr Subhash Singha (Institute of Modern Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences), Yue Hang Leung (LBL)
      • 1
        Measurements on Collectivity from STAR BES
        Speaker: Xionghong He (Institute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of Science)
      • 2
        Probing the QCD Phase Diagram via Higher Order Net-Particle Fluctuation Measurements from STAR BES
        Speaker: Ashish Pandav (National Institute of Science Education and Research)
      • 3
        Recent Hypernuclei Measurements from BES Program
        Speaker: Xiujun Li (University of Science and Technology of China)
      • 4
        Summary Talk
        Speaker: ShinIchi Esumi (Univ. of Tsukuba, CiRfSE)
      • 10:15 AM
        Coffee Break
      • 5
        Hydrodynamic Fluctuations in Heavy-ion Collisions
        Speaker: Mayank Singh (University of Minnesota)
      • 6
        Freezing Out Fluctuations
        Speaker: Maneesha Sushama Pradeep (University of Illinois at Chicago)
      • 7
        Impact of Hadronic Interactions and Conservation Laws on Cumulants of Conserved Charges in a Dynamical Model
        Speaker: Jan Hammelmann (Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies)
      • 8
        Summary Talk
        Speaker: Dmytro Oliinychenko (University of Washington)
      • 11:45 AM
        Lunch Break
    • EIC Physics
      Conveners: Alexander Jentsch (Brookhaven National Laboratory), Sylvester Joosten (Argonne National Laboratory), Tanja Horn (Catholic University)
      • 9
        Leptoquarks at the EIC
        Speaker: Jinlong Zhang (Shandong University)
      • 10
        Jets and Heavy Flavor at the EIC
        Speaker: XinBai Li (USTC)
      • 11
        Backward u-channel DVCS
        Speakers: Bill Li (Stony Brook University), Wenliang Li (Stony Brook University CFNS)
      • 10:15 AM
        Coffee Break
      • 12
        SIDIS Topics at the EIC
        Speakers: Charlotte Van Hulse, Charlotte Van Hulse
      • 13
        Meson Structure
        Speaker: Richard Trotta (The Catholic University of America)
      • 14
        SIDIS Observable Reconstruction
        Speaker: Connor Pecar (Duke University)
      • 11:55 AM
        Lunch Break
      • 15
        Neutron Spin via e+He3 collisions
        Speakers: Dien Nguyen (JLab), Dien Nguyen (JLAB)
      • 16
        Heavy Flavor at the EIC
        Speakers: Sooraj Radhakrishnan, Sooraj Radhakrishnan (Kent State University/Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
      • 1:20 PM
        Coffee Break
      • 17
        Tagged EMC effect
        Speakers: Kong Tu (Brookhaven National Laboratory), Zhoudunming Tu (BNL)
      • 18
        DVCS and Epic Generator
        Speaker: Kemal Tezgin (University of Connecticut)
      • 19
        Weak Mixing Angle at the EIC
        Speaker: Michael Nycz (JLab)
    • Small Systems
      Conveners: Chun Shen (Wayne State University), Takahito Todoroki (University of Tsukuba), shengli huang (Stony Brook University)
    • Accelerating RHIC Science with Machine Learning
      Conveners: Jin Huang (Brookhaven National Lab), Meifeng Lin (Brookhaven National Laboratory), Raghav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli (Yale University and BNL)
      • 26
        Speaker: Jin Huang (Brookhaven National Lab)
      • 27
        Deep learning for high energy nuclear physics from theoretical perspective
        Speaker: Prof. Longgang Pang (CCNU)
      • 28
        Machine Learning based fast data processing and autonomous trigger for sPHENIX and EIC detectors
        Speaker: Dr Yasser Corrales Morales (LANL)
      • 4:05 PM
        Coffee Break
      • 29
        Machine Learning techniques in lattice QCD
        Speaker: Denis Boyda (Argonne National Laboratory)
      • 30
        Machine Learning in Experiment and Analysis
        Speakers: Daniel Brandenburg (Brookhaven National Laboratory), James Daniel Brandenburg (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
      • 31
        Panel discussion
        Speakers: Denis Boyda (Argonne National Laboratory), James Daniel Brandenburg (Brookhaven National Laboratory), LongGang Pang (Department of physics, UC Berkeley), Raghav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli (Yale University and BNL), Yasser Corrales Morales (LANL), Yihui Ren
    • Plenary Session I - 9:00 a.m. - 10:25 a.m. Session I
      Convener: Zhenyu Ye (University of Illinois at Chicago)
      • 65
        Welcome Remarks
        Speaker: Haiyan Gao (BNL, Associate Laboratory Director, Nuclear and Particle Physics )
      • 66
        Report from DOE
        Speaker: Timothy Hallman (Department of Energy, Associate Director of the Office of Science for Nuclear Physics )
      • 67
        DOE NP Facility
        Speaker: James Sowinski (Department of Energy, Nuclear Physics Facilities, Program Manager)
      • 68
        Beam Energy Scan
        Speaker: Daniel Cebra (University of California, Davis)
    • 10:25 AM
      Coffee Break
    • Plenary Session I - 10:45 a.m. - 12:25 p.m. Session II
      Convener: Carl Gagliardi (Texas A&M University)
    • 12:25 PM
      Lunch Break
    • Plenary Session I- 1:30 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. Session III
      Convener: Marzia Rosati (Iowa State University)
      • 73
        Report from NSF
        Speaker: Allena K. Opper (National Science Foundation, Program Director)
      • 74
        Viewpoint from the DOE Program Manager for Heavy Ion
        Speaker: Kenneth Hicks (Department of Energy, Program Manager, Heavy Ion Nuclear Physics)
      • 75
        Merit Awards
        Speaker: Haiyan Gao (BNL, Associate Laboratory Director, Nuclear and Particle Physics )
      • 76
        Thesis Awards
        Speaker: Robert Tribble (BNL, Deputy Director for Science and Technology, Director's Office)
      • 77
        Thesis Award Winner Flash Talk I
        Speaker: Niveditha Ramasubramanian (Stony Book University)
      • 78
        Thesis Award Winner Flash Talk II
        Speaker: Krista Smith (FSU)
    • 2:50 PM
      Coffee Break
    • Poster Session - 3:30 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
      Conveners: Agnieszka Sorensen (University of Washington), Roli Esha (Stony Brook University), Stacyann Nelson (Howard University)